All Good Things

In January 2013, following several harsh semesters of Musical Theatre and Elementary Education, I took a chance and experimented with a brand new program at FSCJ, Converged Communications. Though I didn’t really know what Converged Communications meant, after one week of classes and an introduction to blogging for businesses, I didn’t care! I knew the important things: 1) I excelled in these classes and 2) I had finally found my academic home. Fast forward to January 2014 where Jacksonville Amy was created with the (unintentional) help of Professor Liz Murphy-Thomas and Dr. James Carstens. At the time, I didn’t quite know what I had gotten into, but by dabbling in the art of (self)branding I learned and experienced more than I could have ever dreamed. Here’s an excerpt from my Personal Statement:

My particular enjoyment of branding has impacted my entire undergraduate portfolio, as did my volunteer work in Jacksonville. In January of 2012, I was a volunteer at the non-profit City Rescue Mission as a tutor for the homeless and those in recovery for addiction; the following year, I volunteered at One Spark, an international crowdfunding festival where I learned how small businesses and entrepreneurs are great assets to the local community. Through these experiences, I have become proud of my city and interested in its development, which led to the cultivation of an academic portfolio that had an underlying theme of all things Jacksonville. I branded myself as “Jacksonville Amy” over social media platforms by blogging, tweeting, and Instagramming my social adventures, academic projects, in volunteer work that dealt with my city. Not only did my social media profiles become popular local repositories for the inside scoop on Jacksonville, this intentional networking also lead to internships with two of Downtown Jacksonville’s most highly regarded nonprofit organizations: The Florida Theatre Performing Arts Center, Inc. and Downtown Vision, Inc.

For more than a year I have been developing this Jacksonville-themed portfolio, and I am so proud of the way this entire project has turned out. I am thankful for those who have helped me along the way, and I am SO excited for the future. As I head off to graduate school, I’ll be hanging up my Jacksonville hat and putting on a garnet and gold Seminole headdress. This means I will no longer be using this domain as my portfolio, though it will remain up just for fun.

Because I’d love to keep in touch with you all (and since I’m quite fond of this whole WordPress thing 😉 ) I’ve created a new home for all of my graduate school things…. FSU AMY. 🙂

#CONCOMMS4EVA!!!
xoxo
-Amy

Leave a Reply

